When is the office open?
The Marriage License Bureau is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm,
Wednesday until 7:30 pm, with the exception of holidays. NOTE: No
applications will be done after 4:00 pm except on Wednesday.
What do I need to do to obtain a marriage license?
Applicants seeking a marriage license must appear together in person at the
Marriage License Bureau of the Wills/Orphans' Court Division and complete an
Application for Marriage License. Photo identification is required at the time
of application. The Marriage License Bureau is located on the First Floor of the
City-County Building, 414 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
Once the Application for Marriage License has been submitted in person and the
three day waiting period required by the State has passed, the Marriage License
can be mailed, at no extra cost, directly to the home. With this option, couples
can save on parking fees, missed time from work or a trip to downtown
When should we apply for a license and how long is it valid?
Applicants should take the necessary steps to obtain a Marriage License 2 to 3
weeks before the scheduled date of their marriage ceremony.
Pennsylvania law requires a three-day waiting period between the date applicants
apply for a Marriage License and when the license may be issued. If
applying on Monday, the license will be ready on Thursday. If applying on
Tuesday, the license will be ready on Friday. If applying on Wednesday,
Thursday or Friday, the license will be ready on Monday.
The marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued and may be
picked up from the Marriage License Bureau by either of the applicants, a friend
or a relative.
A marriage license can also be mailed two weeks prior to the wedding date.
May a marriage license issued in Allegheny County be used anywhere else?
A Marriage License issued in Allegheny County may be used anywhere in the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Likewise, a license issued in any other county in
Pennsylvania may be used in Allegheny County.
What about prior marriages?
Applicants who have been previously married and divorced must furnish a
certified copy of the Decree of Divorce dissolving the marriage. A certified
copy of the divorce decree issued by the courts contains a seal. Certified
copies of divorce decrees may be obtained by contacting the Family Division of
the Court in which the decree was granted (Civil/Family Division if decree was
granted in Allegheny County). A widow or widower must provide the date of death
of their former spouse.
NOTE: An additional $10.00
per Decree of Divorce will be added to the standard $80.00
Marriage License Fee. For example, if only one applicant has had a prior divorce, the
Marriage License Fee would be $90.00
. If both applicants have had a prior divorce, the Marriage License Fee would be
What are the age requirements to marry?
Applicants must be 18 years of age in order to apply for a marriage license.
This rule applies to both male and female applicants. Applicants between 16-18
years of age must be accompanied by the custodial parent or guardian to provide
written consent. Applicants under 16 years of age must have BOTH the written
consent of the custodial parent or guardian and the written approval of a judge
of the Orphans' Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas.
Who may not marry?
Persons related by blood up to and including first cousins may not marry in
Pennsylvania. Other prohibitions and policies are posted in the Marriage License
Bureau of the Wills/Orphans' Court Division.
What are the fees for a marriage license?
The fees for a Marriage License vary from county to county. Allegheny County
fees, including Pennsylvania taxes and surcharges, are as follows:
Allegheny County Fee
Pennsylvania Writ Tax
Court Technology Fee
Act 151 Surcharge
Act 222 Surcharge
Additional Fee per Divorce Decree
Who must file the marriage return?
The officiant performing the marriage ceremony must file the Marriage Return
with the Marriage License Bureau which issued the license, within ten (10) days
of the date of the ceremony. A marriage record will not exist if the officiant
who performs the marriage fails to file this document. Upon request, the
Marriage License Bureau will inform the couples whether their marriage return
has been filed and recorded.
How do I obtain a duplicate marriage license?
The Allegheny County Marriage License Bureau now offers a certified facsimile of
a couple's marriage license. Facsimiles may be obtained by contacting the
Marriage License Bureau at the address provided below.
Couples who wish to obtain a certified copy of their marriage record may do so
by contacting the county in which their marriage license was issued.
Applicants who have questions concerning any of this material may contact the
Marriage License Bureau at (412) 350-4230.
Single copies of this material are available in a pamphlet format by writing to:
Department of Court Records
Wills/Orphans' Court Division
Marriage License Bureau
1st Floor, City-County Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15219